Leg Two All-Stars

8.29.2012 – Oklahoma City, OK (Ryan MacNeill)

During Leg Two, Phish stuck to a very tight second set rotation. When looking to compile a second leg All-Star team, a few songs—“Light,” “Chalk Dust,” and “Tweezer”—jumped right out. But the 4th and 5th spots on the first team (using the NBA model) weren’t shoo-in selections. After a bit of thought, however, here are my picks.

“Chalk Dust Torture” — Already discussed in an article last week, “Chalk Dust” leapt onto this squad with three outstanding versions in its last three outings of summer, including an all-timer in Colorado.  Bursting out of nowhere following two relatively standard versions, “Chalk Dust” broke form in Atlanta in a big way, going unfinished into “What’s the Use?.” The next two versions, in St. Louis and Colorado, went in totally different directions, culminating with Dick’s masterpiece.

“Tweezer” — Also seen in an article of its own, “Tweezer” not only made the all-star team, but also took home the comeback player of the tour. Going 4-for-4 on the tour, “Tweezer” rolled out only great jams this tour, a welcome change from recent runs. From the darkness of Bill Graham’s to the bliss of Kansas City and Charlotte, “Tweezer” covered a lot of territory over Leg Two, and it is great to see the old dog gain this honor in 2012.

“Light” — If Phish had only played the Dick’s “Light” this tour, the modern jam vehicle would have a legitimate place on this squad. But in addition to this version of instant legend, “Light” also produced the moment of the summer, and arguably, the tour’s second best jam in Bill Graham finale. The other two times out, in Atlanta and Oklahoma City, “Light” had its least potent outings of the entire summer, but with Dick’s and BGCA’s versions, “Light” has captured another first-team All-Star selection, and is in the conversation for MVP.

“Rock and Roll” — “Rock and Roll” got the Leg Two party started in the LBC with one of the jams of the tour—a 25 minute, multi-thematic leviathan that showed Bieber his maker. Phish followed up the tour-opening standout with one of their most coherent and transcendent jams of Leg Two in Oak Mountains second-set opener. “Rock and Roll” only came out one more time in Leg Two—an innocuous mid-second-set rendition in Oklahoma City. But in such short tour, two top shelf excursions equals an All-Star berth.

“Golden Age” — The fifth spot on this team could go to any one of three different songs. “Golden Age,” however, gets the nod on the strength of two great jams, in Atlanta and in Colorado. Atlanta’s version is one of the dark horses of Leg Two, and Dick’s versions has gone incredibly underrated due to the monstrosity of the “Light” that followed.

Honorable Mention: 

“Sand” — Despite Denver’s all-timer, Phish infused far less creativity in the three other versions of tour, falling back on Trey solos each time. Losing quite a bit of bite from Leg One, “Sand” still had what it takes to claim an easy second team berth.

“Ghost” — Long Beach saw, arguably, the “Ghost” of the year, and Dick’s version closed tour with a scorcher. But there was a lot of time in between.

“Piper” — Phish never truly let loose on a “Piper” during Leg Two, with its most pronounced version taking place in the tour closer. Another strong, but underdeveloped version came in Kansas City.

=====

AUBURN HILLS ’97 GIVEAWAY!

12-6-97 The Palace

Thanks to Phish’s home offices, I have five download codes for Phish’s brand new release of a legendary show—December 6, 1997, at the Palace of Auburn Hills, Michigan. This is a top fiver for me, and one of the best shows of 1997. This show has been begging for Fred Kevorkian’s remaster treatment for quite some time, and I’d like to thank archivist, Kevin Shapiro, for finally gracing us with this treasured nugget of Phish history!

To win one of these five download codes (mp3 only, sorry), Tweet me (@mrminer) a one-Tweet description of the second-set opening sequence, “Tweezer > Izabella.” Please use the hashtag #palacegold. I will RT the six winners at 12 noon PST and Direct Message you your winning codes!

Thanks for playing!

=====

Jam of the Day:

Rock and Roll > Ghost” 8.15 II, LBC

The astronomic start to Leg Two in Southern California.

[audio:http://phishthoughts.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/ph2012-08-15t12.mp3,http://phishthoughts.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/ph2012-08-15t13.mp3,http://phishthoughts.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/ph2012-08-15t14.mp3]

 

Tags: ,

811 Responses to “Leg Two All-Stars”

  1. oldskool Says:

    nobody invites me to the Boston get togethers…

  2. joe Says:

    I think I stated earlier that the 12/29/94 show was the no turning back point for me. Had enjoyed the band before then, but that was the show that was the “I’m not missing them any more if I have even the slightest chance of making a show”

  3. joe Says:

    not full time tour shit, but a good 5 hour radius rule in effect for awhile after that

  4. RoosterPizza Says:

    I am still a n00b joe, but I had that moment last year. It’s a good one to have, I think.

  5. halcyon Says:

    oldskool

    I am a newb to Mass. Still trying to figure out why we are here. I am going on shift soon, but am down for a get together. Not to mention there will be a meetup for Trey at The Orpheum

  6. Type III Jamming Personality Disorder Says:

    @oldskool
    I thought of you but then I spaced it cuz I knew I wasn’t going to be going… sorry about that 😳

  7. joe Says:

    and technically, aren’t they the metro-west/Worcester contingent anyway?

  8. Type III Jamming Personality Disorder Says:

    check out the geography major gettin’ all technical 😉

  9. snow Says:

    I had to go to my club lunch…
    That’s all you got? At least AW could pull together a meme. I’ll let it go. You claim victory if you want. Glowhawks win is all I need.

    http://qkme.me/3r37m0

    Sorry to hear the news Sumo. Best wished for a full recovery.

  10. Mr. Palmer Says:

    “I had to go to my club lunch…”

    ^ what club might that be? Intellectually Superior Rule Deducers from the Upper NorthWest?

  11. Type III Jamming Personality Disorder Says:

    hang on Palmer. snow never said he lived in King County…

  12. Mr. Palmer Says:

    All in good fun Glowbanks.. your blindness towards your team is a little admirable.

  13. Mr. Palmer Says:

    Snowblindness

  14. sumodie Says:

    Dang, too many cool BBers live in central ma, not fair as i no longer live there

    ***
    No worries, phoamm, many a misfortune is hilarious, esp when it happens to segway riders. Our saturday misadventures were awesomely funny in hindsight

    BTW, love hearing all the fun plans for your wedding!

  15. sumodie Says:

    Commencing Gin > Foam

    you know which one

  16. phoammhead Says:

    right on, sumo

    not sure if i mentioned it yet on here, but we’re having our favorite band play and we asked them a couple of months ago to learn a phish tune for us . . . three guesses which tune and first two don’t count

  17. phoammhead Says:

    that’s still is some scary shit about cruising down a zip line and crashing head first into a tree . . . i mean damn. and, bek and i have that adventure high on our bucket list of adventures.

  18. snow Says:

    Okay, can’t let it go. damn it.

    98 hail marys have resulted in ZERO pass interference calls in NFL history. Charly Martin also gets interfered with. they don’t call PI on hail mary’s. that’s pro football.

    I’m saying jennings clearly catches it by the way we all know football.
    According to the rules though, tate gets simultaneous possession.

    Here is the gray area. The rules says this:
    “It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control.”

    How do you know for certain that Jennings had control First? Tate’s hand is right there. It’s between the ball and jennings.

    There is even a new angle on the play:
    http://landing.newsinc.com/shared/video.html?vcid=23823733&freewheel=91052&sitesection=kcpq

    And I don’t think it’s blindness. My initial reaction for the first 12 hours was that it was an interception and we won on a crap call. It’s just after reading the league’s post mortem and hearing brock and salk discuss it ad naseum, I see their point.

    And yes, that is my club. We have one in Whatcom County too.

  19. Jtran Says:

    RCMH ghost to start off the afternoon

  20. phoammhead Says:

    i think i’m just going to stay at home anymore . . . well, right after our honeymoon to curacao

  21. Type III Jamming Personality Disorder Says:

    Nice, jtran. That was part of my late afternoon’s listening

  22. Mr. Palmer Says:

    your initial reaction was indeed correct, as is often the case.

    I’m shocked the NFL and your local sports talkies swung the pendulum. I mean, that’s what they do.

  23. snow Says:

    This guy on field gulls says it very well:
    “The exception to the simultaneous catch rule is if one player controls the ball before the other. And control doesn’t require having two feet on the ground. Control can happen in the air. So, it appears that Jennings still had control in the air before Tate did, which would make it not a simultaneous catch.”

    Then in response to a response:
    “Yes, Tate has his hand (singular, not plural) on the ball first.
    whether or not that constitutes control, however, is the million dollar question. However, when Jennings gets both of his hands on the ball I believe he does have control. Now, it may not be sole control based on how you interpret Tate’s left hand (contact is not necessarily control), but Jennings at least has his own share of control. At the very least, Jennings has clear control before Tate has clear control.

    … The issue for me has always been does Tate’s left hand in the air constitute control, because it seems clear to me that Jennings at least has control when he grabs it with both hands and Jennings getting initial control is the only thing that can negate the simultaneous catch rule.

    But I guess to answer your question, no, I don’t see a point that Jennings has indisputable control over the ball, which is why I agree with the replay official’s decision not to overturn the call. But it’s also not clear that Tate has control with just his left hand. So really, I think that if they had ruled it as an interception on the field that wouldn’t have been overturned by the replay official either. I don’t think there’s indisputable evidence for either side.”

  24. bobby weird Says:

    “It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control.”

    ^ exactly! Jennings clearly had first “control,” then, by the time it was to be determined whether there was a “catch” (as snow says, when feet touch ground), Tate had subsequently gained “joint control,” hence NO “catch”!

    control, joint control and catch are apparently different things.

  25. viola Says:

    the inaccurate catch is reflecting very poorly on the league and on the glowhawks. ive never heard more chatter about a loser organization acting so out of line with the integrity of the game…. guess thats what you get when your dealing with an organzation thats never won a championship

    seachickens are kang’d

Leave a Reply